Saturday, February 28, 2009

You're a what?!

So you're vegetarian, huh? Oh yeah? Just what kind of vegetarian are you anyway?


Vegans eat no animal products of any kind. They eat only vegetable, fruits, and grains. That's it! No animal helped make their food, not even the honey from a bee. And, while we're at it, you can forget about that Jell-o over don't even want to know how that's made. (No, not from the boxed powder and boiling water.)

Raw Vegan

Contrary to popular belief, raw vegan is not just salads and carrot sticks. And, while no real "cooking" is involved it can still be a lenghty process to prepare meals. The raw vegan diet includes raw vegetables and fruits, nuts and nut pastes, grain and legume sprouts, seeds, plant oils, sea vegetables, herbs, and fresh juices. Foods on this diet are not heated above 118* F.

Vegetables, fruits, grains and eggs only for ovo-vegetarians. If and when I can get my lovable son, AJ to consume eggs this is what he is thanks to his severe dairy allergy....but mainly I just make him vegan meals.

Lacto-ovo vegetarian

Lacto stands for dairy products. Ovo is for eggs. Lacto-ovos eat vegetables, fruits, grains, and dairy products. They don't eat meat, chicken, or fish. This is what the majority of vegetarians out there are.

Flexitarian or Occasional vegetarian

Even the biggest meat eater occassionally eats a meal that has no meat. Even my friend Mike, believe it or not. And the opposite is true for occassional vegetarians. Flexitarians might eat the occassional chicken or fish in addition to vegetables, grains, eggs, and dairy or simply indulge in a burger without the guilt.

1 comment:

  1. I had no idea there were so many different "kinds" of vegetarians!